Marshawn Lynch teamed up with Ninja to compete in the 2019 Fortnite Celebrity Pro-Am. (Images: Mitchell Leff/Getty, Ninja)

Fortnite Celebrity Pro-Am Sees Sports Stars Team Up With Pro Gamers

A slew of professional athletes were among the 50 celebrities who teamed up with esports pros to participating in the 2019 Fortnite Celebrity Pro-Am on Sunday. The event, which was part of the Fortnite Summer Block Party in Los Angeles, allowed two-player teams to compete for part of a $3 […]

Overwatch League teams will begin playing in their home cities for the 2020 season. (Image: Robert Paul/Blizzard Entertainment)

Overwatch League Teams to Begin Playing in Home Markets for 2020 Season

The Overwatch League is planning on having its franchises host matches in their home cities next year, the first time such a system has been attempted in a major professional esports league. Overwatch League currently features 20 teams that represent 19 cities, with two teams – the Gladiators and the […]

Kevin Knox, then a freshman from Kentucky, displays the Fortnite logo on the inside of his suit jacket before the 2018 NBA Draft. (Image: Jennifer Pottheiser/Getty)

New York Knicks Losing Season Includes Fortnite

The New York Knicks are one of the worst teams in the NBA this season, is a young squad that is also losing the battle against the popular survival video game, Fortnite. The Knicks have four players under 21-years old, including rookie sensation Kevin Knox, who is 19. Ten members  […]

Newzoo estimates that the global esports market will rake in more than $1 billion in revenue in 2019. (Image: Philippe Wojazer/Reuters)

Esports Revenues Expected to Break $1 Billion for First Time in 2019

According to an analysis by Newzoo, global esports revenues are expected to eclipse the $1 billion mark for the first time ever in 2019, continuing the expansive growth of the competitive video gaming industry. The research firm released a report on Tuesday that found that the esports industry as a […]

Super Bowl LIII participants, the New England Patriots and LA Rams, have special uniform skins for Fortnite users.(Image: Epic Games)

Fortnite Adds NFL Uniforms to Celebrate Upcoming Super Bowl

To commemorate Super Bowl LIII, special edition NFL uniforms and skins for the New England Patriots and Los Angeles Rams are available for Fortnite users. Epic Games, the creator of the popular and addictive 100-person battle royale game Fortnite, initially joined forced with the NFL in November 2018. Jerseys for […]

Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin becomes the first Big East school to field an official esports varsity team. (Image: Marquette)

Marquette Starts First Esports Varsity Team in Big East

An official esports varsity squad is coming Marquette University, the first major college in the Big East conference to field a full-fledged team collegiate gamers. Starting in the fall of 2019, Marquette will field its first varsity esports team. Marquette started a club team in 2015, but this fall will […]

Fortnite's popularity continues to grow with 200 million total users and 8.3 million concurrent users. (Image: Epic Games)

Fortnite: Razor-Thin Line Between Gaming Passion and Addiction

Fortnite is one of the most popular titles in the history of gaming, but Epic Games’ battle royale could be a little too much fun for some, according to a recent Bloomberg report on rising concerns about Fortnite addiction. Such consideration for the well-being of the world’s youth comes at […]

The Overwatch League has announced format changes for the 2019 season which will give teams more downtime for rest and strategizing between matches. (Image: Robert Paul/Blizzard Entertainment)

Overwatch League Evolves with Format Changes for Sophomore Season

The Overwatch League announced a series of format changes for its second season on Wednesday, including information on how eight new expansion teams will be integrated into the league structure. The 2019 edition of Overwatch League will start play on February 14 a month later than last years opening […]

The Overwatch League will add eight new teams for its second season, expanding the competition to 20 teams in total. (Image: Blizzard Entertainment)

Overwatch League Unveils Full Slate of Eight Expansion Teams for 2019 Season

The 2019 Overwatch League season will see eight new teams join the esports competition, as Activision Blizzard and the league announced six more expansion franchises on Friday. Atlanta and Guangzhou had already been confirmed as expansion teams earlier this summer, and will now be joined by new squads in North […]