Eight teams remain in the NFL playoffs heading into the Divisional Round. You can place an early wager on the next Super Bowl MVP with Aaron Rodgers and Patrick Mahomes the co-favorites at +450 odds, followed by Josh Allen at +550, and Tom Brady at +600. Meanwhile, Derrick Henry attempts become the first running back to win the Super Bowl MVP in 24 seasons, which is why he’s a mid-tier shot at +1800 odds.

Josh Allen MVP Super Bowl odds Mahomes Brady Rodgers
Josh Allen from the Buffalo Bills celebrates a touchdown during a blowout against the New England Patriots in the AFC Wild Card. (Image: USA Today Sports)

It’s no surprise to see the quarterback from the top four teams on the NFL futures board to win the championship as the leading contenders to win the MVP at Super Bowl 56, according to a recent update by DraftKings.

Super Bowl 56 MVP – Early Odds
  • Aaron Rodgers +450
  • Patrick Mahomes +450
  • Josh Allen +550
  • Tom Brady +600
  • Matthew Stafford +900
  • Ryan Tannehill +1400
  • Jimmy Garoppolo +1400
  • Joe Burrow +1600
  • Derrick Henry +1800
  • Ja’Marr Chase +2500
  • Deebo Samuel +3000
  • Cooper Kupp +3000
  • Davante Adams +3500
  • Aaron Donald +5000
  • Tyreek Hill +5000
  • Travis Kelce +5000
  • Stefon Diggs +5000
  • Aaron Jones +6000
  • Joe Mixon +6000
  • Rob Gronkowski +8000
  • Mike Evans +8000
  • Von Miller +10000

Brady won the award at Super Bowl 55 or an NFL-record fifth time. He’s one of five players who won multiple MVP awards at the Super Bowl including Joe Montana (3), Bart Starr (2), Eli Manning (2), and Terry Bradshaw (2).

Predict the Winning QB

If you can figure out which team will win Super Bowl 56, then pick that quarterback as the MVP. It’s a simple and rudimentary tactic because quarterbacks are a popular pick to win the MVP. Quarterbacks won the MVP 31 times or more than any other position combined.

With eight teams remaining, you only have to narrow your search down to two quarterbacks. Which two teams do you think will advance to the Super Bowl? That’s why Mahomes and Rodgers are co-favorites to win the Super Bowl MVP at +450 odds. It’s a matchup that many fans would like to see, especially network suits. Mahomes was the favorite at -109 odds entering last year’s Super Bowl, but Brady edged him out at +190 odds.

Josh Allen from the Buffalo Bills is a value play to win the Super Bowl MVP at +550 odds. The Bills went to the Big Game four times in the 1990s, but whiffed all four times with zero championships. If the Bills Mafia finally get over the hump, it’s going to be on the arm (and legs) of Allen.

Of course, there’s the potential return of Brady to the Super Bowl, which pays out +600 odds to win his sixth MVP. Only seven teams won the Super Bowl in consecutive years. Brady is the last quarterback to win back-to-back Super Bowls with the New England Patriots in 2003-04. Even though Brady hoisted the MVP trophy five times in the postgame ceremony, he never won the prestigious honor in consecutive years.

Will a RB, WR, or Defensive Player Win MVP?

Non-QBs won the MVP only 24 times. Running backs and wide receivers won seven times each. Defensive players won the MVP a combined 10 times, with linebackers snagging the honor seven times.

Von Miller is the last defensive player to win the MVP. He played linebacker with the Denver Broncos when they won Super Bowl 50. Miller plays for the LA Rams and you can back him as a long shot at +10000 odds to win a second MVP.

Since 1999, a wide receiver won the Super Bowl MVP four times. That short list includes Deion Branch (New England Patriots), Hines Ward (Pittsburgh Steelers), Santonio Holmes (Steelers), and Julian Edelman (Patriots).

Only seven running backs won the Super Bowl MVP and it’s been almost 25 years since Terrell Davis from the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl 32 bagged the honor. Emmitt Smith, Otis Anderson, Marcus Allen, John Riggins, Franco Harris, and Larry Csonka are the only other RBs to ship the MVP.

If there’s any running back on the current board that could end the MVP drought, it’s Derrick Henry at +1800 odds. The Titans RB returns after missing the second half of the season with a fractured foot.

In case you were wondering, Desmond Howard is the only kick/punt returner to win the MVP, which occurred with the Green Bay Packers at Super Bowl 31.

Check out our comprehensive list of players who won the Super Bowl MVP.