Twenty-six players will represent the MLS in its clash against the Mexican league’s superstars.

Carlos Vela
All-Star Game 2022: Carlos Vela will lead the MLS All-Stars’ attack along with Chicharito Hernandez. (Image:

MLS confirmed the names of those selected to participate in the 2022 All-Star Game. For the second consecutive year, the match will pit a star-studded MLS team against the best players in the Mexican top-flight, Liga MX. Carlos Vela and Chicharito Hernandez, the stars at LAFC and LA Galaxy, respectively, will lead the MLS All-Star team. The match will be played Aug. 10 at Allianz Field in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Of the 26 MLS players called, 12 were chosen by fan vote, 12 were added by Adrian Heath — the manager of host team Minnesota United — while the final two choices belonged to MLS Commissioner Don Garber. None of the big names who joined MLS clubs this summer, including Toronto’s Lorenzo Insigne and LAFC’s duo of Giorgio Chiellini and Gareth Bale, could be counted on because of the selection policy currently in place.

The Eastern and Western Conference leaders, NYCFC and LAFC, are best represented in the all-star match, with three players each.

Last year, the MLS All-Stars beat their rivals from Liga MX 3-2 on penalties after being tied at 1-1 at the end of regulation. LAFC’s Jesus Murillo scored for the MLS All-Stars in the 53rd minute.

The full 2022 MLS All-Star Roster


Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
Sean Johnson (NYCFC)
Dayne St. Clair (Minnesota United)


Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy)
Alexander Callens (NYCFC)
Aaron Long (NY Red Bulls)
Kamal Miller (CF Montreal)
Diego Palacios (LAFC)
Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union)
DeAndre Yedlin (Inter Miami)
Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)


Luciano Acosta (FC Cincinnati)
Sebastián Driussi (Austin FC)
Carles Gil (New England Revolution)
Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC)
Darlington Nagbe (Columbus Crew)
Emanuel Reynoso (Minnesota United)
Ilie Sánchez (LAFC)


Paul Arriola (FC Dallas)
Valentín Castellanos (NYCFC)
Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas)
Taxiarchis Fountas (D.C. United)
Javier “Chicharito” Hernández (LA Galaxy)
Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders)
Raúl Ruidíaz (Seattle Sounders)
Carlos Vela (LAFC)