We complied a complete list of Super Bowl winners and NFL champions leading up to Super Bowl 56 between the Los Angeles Rams and Cincinnati Bengals.

Vince Lombardi Super Bowl List Winners Champions
Green Bay Packers players carry head coach Vince Lombardi off the field after a victory over the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl I. (Credit: AP)

The Kansas City Chiefs appeared in the first Super Bowl and won their franchise’s first championship with a victory in Super Bowl IV. The Chiefs won their second title thanks to Patrick Mahomes in Super Bowl 54.

I Green Bay Packers 35, Kansas City Chiefs 10
II Green Bay Packers 33, Oakland Raiders 14
III New York Jets 16, Baltimore Colts 7
IV Kansas City Chiefs 23, Minnesota Vikings 7
V Baltimore Colts 16, Dallas Cowboys 13
VI Dallas Cowboys 23, Miami Dolphins 3
VII Miami Dolphins 14, Washington Football Team 7
VIII Miami Dolphins 24, Minnesota Vikings 7
IX Pittsburgh Steelers 16, Minnesota Vikings 6
X Pittsburgh Steelers 21, Dallas Cowboys 17

The 1972 Dolphins went 14-0 in the regular season. They won the Super Bowl VII against the Washington Football Team to cap off their perfect season.

During the first ten Super Bowls, three teams won back-to-back titles with the Packers winning Super Bowl I and II. The “perfect” Miami Dolphins won Super Bowl VII and repeated with another victory in Super Bowl VIII.

The Pittsburgh Steelers won the next two championships with wins in Super Bowl IX and X. They weren’t done yet. After a two-year layoff, the Steelers won again in Super Bowl XIII and XIV. They capped off the 1970s with back-to-back championships and improved to a career 4-0 in the Super Bowl.

Rise of the 49ers Dynasty

At the end of the 1970s and the start of the 1980s, the Oakland Raiders were the best team in the Bay Area. The Oakland Raiders were a two-time Super Bowl champion after winning Super Bowl XI and XV. After relocating to Los Angeles, the LA Raiders won Super Bowl XVIII for Al Davis’ third title.

However, the San Francisco 49ers and Joe Montana won Super Bowl XVI and beat the Cincinnati Bengals to kick off the Niners dynasty. They’d win again with Montana in Super Bowl XIX, XXIII, and XXIV. Steve Young would win their fifth title with a win in Super Bowl XXIX.

At the start of the 1990s, the Dallas Cowboys won consecutive titles under Jimmy Johnson and won three total.

XI Oakland Raiders 32, Minnesota Vikings 14
XII Dallas Cowboys 27, Denver Broncos 10
XIII Pittsburgh Steelers 35, Dallas Cowboys 31
XIV Pittsburgh Steelers 31, Los Angeles Rams 19
XV Oakland Raiders 27, Philadelphia Eagles 10
XVI San Francisco 49ers 26, Cincinnati Bengals 21
XVII Washington Football Team 27, Miami Dolphins 17
XVIII Los Angeles Raiders 28, Washington Redskins 9
XIX San Francisco 49ers 38, Miami Dolphins 16
XX Chicago Beats 46, New England Patriots 10
XXI New York Giants 39, Denver Broncos 20
XXII Washington Football Team 42, Denver Broncos 10
XXIII San Francisco 49ers 20, Cincinnati Bengals 16
XXIV San Francisco 49ers 55, Denver Broncos 10
XXV New York Giants 20, Buffalo Bills 19
XXVI Washington Football Team 37, Buffalo Bills 24
XXVII Dallas Cowboys 52, Buffalo Bills 17
XXVIII Dallas Cowboys 30, Buffalo Bills 13
XXIX San Francisco 49ers 49, San Diego Chargers 26
XXX Dallas Cowboys 27, Pittsburgh Steelers 17
XXXI Green Bay Packers 35, New England Patriots 21
XXXII Denver Broncos 31, Green Bay Packers 24
XXXIII Denver Broncos 34, Atlanta Falcons 19
XXXIV  St. Louis Rams 23, Tennessee Titans 16

After going 0-4 in their first four Super Bowl appearances, the Denver Broncos and John Elway won two in a row with victories in Super Bowl XXXII and XXIII.


Brady and Belichick Dynasty

After losing their first two Super Bowl appearances, the New England Patriots turned around their fortunes with a victory in Super Bowl XXXVI. That marked the first of six titles that Tom Brady and Bill Belichick would win during their dynasty. They’d also lose three times in the Super Bowl, including two losses to Eli Manning and the New York Giants.

The Pittsburgh Steelers won two more championships in the late 2000s to secure their sixth title. The Steelers are currently tied with the Patriots for most Super Bowl wins. The Steelers are 6-2 in eight Super Bowl appearances. The Patriots were Super Bowl champions six times with a 6-5 record in 11 appearances.

XXXV Baltimore Ravens 34, New York Giants 7
XXXVI New England Patriots 20, St, Louis Rams 17
XXXVII Tampa Bay Bucs 48, Oakland Raiders 21
XXXVIII New England Patriots 32, Carolina Panthers 29
XXXIX New England Patriots 24, Philadelphia Eagles 21
XL Pittsburgh Steelers 21, Seattle Seahawks 10
XLI Indianapolis Colts 29, Chicago Bears 17
XLII New York Giants 17, New England Patriots 14
XLIII Pittsburgh Steelers 27, Arizona Cardinals 23
XLIV New Orleans Saints 31, Indianapolis Colts 17
XLV Green Bay Packers 31, Pittsburgh Steelers 25
XLVI New York Giants 21, New England Patriots 17
XLVII Baltimore Ravens 34, San Francisco 49ers 31
XLVIII Seattle Seahawks 43, Denver Broncos 8
XLIX New England Patriots 28, Seattle Seahawks 24
50 Denver Broncos 24, Carolina Panthers 10
LI New England Patriots 34, Atlanta Falcons 28 (OT)
LII Philadelphia Eagles 41, New England Patriots 33
LIII New England Patriots 13, Los Angeles Rams 3
LIV Kansas City Chiefs 31, San Francisco 49ers 20
LV Tampa Bay Bucs 31, Kansas City Chiefs 9
LVI Los Angeles Rams 23, Cincinnati Bengals 20

The Niners appeared in their sixth Super Bowl, but lost XLVIII to the Baltimore Ravens. Also dubbed the Harbaugh Bowl or the HarBowl, Jim Harbaugh and the Niners lost to his brother John and the Ravens.

Super Bowl Odds and Ends

The Green Bay Packers, led by legendary coach Vince Lombardi, won the first two Super Bowls. The current Super Bowl trophy bears Lombardi’s name.

The Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers are tied for the second-most titles with five Super Bowl wins. The Green Bay Packers have four titles with two under Vince Lombardi and one each with Brett Favre and Aaron Rodgers. The New York Giants are tied with the Packers with four titles. The G-Men won two under Bill Parcells and then squeaked by the Patriots for two more Super Bowl wins.

Pittsburgh Steelers 6
New England Patriots 6
Dallas Cowboys 5
San Francisco 49ers 5
Green Bay Packers 4
New York Giants 4

The Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans, and Jacksonville Jaguars are the four teams to have never appeared in the Super Bowl.

The Minnesota Vikings appeared in four of the first 11 Super Bowls. However, the Vikes were 0-4 and never won a title.

In the 1990s, the Buffalo Bills emerged as one of the best teams from the AFC, but they went to four consecutive Super Bowls and lost each one.

Take a look at OG’s complete list of Super Bowl MVP winners.

Similar Guides On This Topic