Bayern’s superstar missed out on the Ballon d’Or at the end of last year, but won The Best award, an individual trophy created by FIFA. Lewandowski (33) was the winner in 2020 as well. Alexia Putellas won the women’s award, as the Barcelona midfielder secured a glamorous double after also claiming the Ballon d’Or.

The Best 2021: Robert Lewandowski
The Best 2021: Robert Lewandowski won FIFA’s Player of the Year award for the second time in a row. (Image: lewy_official)

The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony was held as a virtual TV show from Zurich. Lewandowski and Putellas were the shining names of the evening, with each being recognized as the outstanding player in the men’s and women’s games, respectively.

The winners of the Best player, goalkeeper, and coach awards were determined through a voting process in which four groups had an equal say: football fans, selected media representatives, and the captains and head coaches of national teams from around the globe.

The voting results placed Lewandowski first in the Men’s survey, with 48 points, ahead of Lionel Messi with 44 and Mohamed Salah with 39. Putellas won by a much larger margin. The Barcelona player earned 52 points, with Sam Kerr at 38 and Jenni Hermoso at 33.

A breakdown of the voting results, including each nominee’s points total, is available here. See how everyone involved voted here.

Chelsea’s Thomas Tuchel topped the poll for the Best men’s coach, while Emma Hayes, the Chelsea FC Women manager received the women’s award. Senegal shot-stopper Edouard Mendy made it a hat-trick for Chelsea, after being awarded the Best men’s goalkeeper prize. The women’s trophy went to the Chilean Christiane Endler from Lyon.

During the gala, FIFA also rewarded two outstanding performers for their heroics on the international stage. Christine Sinclair, with 188 goals in 308 caps for Canada, received the Best FIFA Special Award for women’s football, and Cristiano Ronaldo, with 115 goals in 184 appearances for Portugal, received the Best FIFA Special Award for men’s football.

Ronaldo skipped the Ballon d’Or ceremony in December, but accepted the invitation to be part of FIFA’s event in person, receiving his award from the hands of president Gianni Infantino.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player Winners

🏆 2016 – Cristiano Ronaldo
🏆 2017 – Cristiano Ronaldo
🏆 2018 – Luka Modric
🏆 2019 – Lionel Messi
🏆 2020 – Robert Lewandowski
🏆 2021 – Robert Lewandowski

The Best 11

Thousands of football players from around the world were asked to cast their votes for FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11 and FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11.

FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain)
Defenders: David Alaba (FC Bayern München/Real Madrid CF), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus FC), Rúben Dias (Manchester City FC)
Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City FC), Jorginho (Chelsea FC), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea FC)
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus FC/Manchester United FC), Erling Haaland (BV Borussia 09 Dortmund), Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern München), Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)

FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11

Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain/Olympique Lyonnais)
Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea FC Women), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City WFC), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea FC Women), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais)
Midfielders: Estefanía Banini (Levante UD/Atlético de Madrid Femenino), Barbara Bonansea (Juventus FC Women), Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham FC)
Forwards: Marta (Orlando Pride), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal WFC), Alex Morgan (Tottenham Hotspur FC Women/Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave FC)

Lamela scored the Best goal in 2021

Sevilla’s Erik Lamela won the Puskas Award for a goal he scored when he was still playing for Tottenham Hostpur last year. The Argentinian netted in a fantastic way against Tottenham’s North London rivals, Arsenal, in March 2021. In 2020, another Tottenham goal, scored by Heung-Min Son against Burnley won the prize.

The FIFA Fan Award went to the Danish and Finnish fans for their wonderful showing of support toward Christian Eriksen following his cardiac arrest on the pitch at Euro 2020. Both sets of supporters engaged in clapping to honor the Danish midfielder before the Finnish started shouting “Christian” so the Danish would respond with “Eriksen”.

The FIFA Fair Play Award was awarded to the Denmark team, their staff, and their medical support.