In the latest odds update for the NFL’s Most Valuable Player (MVP), Baltimore Ravens quarterback, Lamar Jackson is the new favorite over Seattle Seahawks quarterback, Russell Wilson. Jackson leads the 8-2 Ravens and the league’s top offense that averages 34.1 points per game.

Lamar Jackson MVP odds
Baltimore Ravens Quarterback, Lamar Jackson evades tacklers from the Houston Texans. (Tommy Gilligan/USA Today Sports)

Caesars Palace Sportsbook in Las Vegas updated the future MVP odds on Jackson, who is now the favorite at 7/5. Wilson, who leads the NFL in touchdowns with 23, is the second-favorite on the board at 2/1 odds to win his first MVP.

CBS announcer, Tony Romo summed it up best, “At this point, the MVP will come down to Russell Wilson or Lamar Jackson.”

The reigning MVP, Patrick Mahomes, is 10/1 odds to win back-to-back MVP awards.

The Green Bay Packers exceeded preseason projections with an 8-2 record under first-year head coach, Matt LaFleur. Aaron Rodgers is playing his best football in years. Caesars Palace listed Rodgers at 9/1 odds to win his third MVP crown.

2019 NFL MVP Odds
Lamar Jackson (Baltimore) 7/5
Russell Wilson (Seattle) 2/1
Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay) 9/1
Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City) 10/1
Dak Prescott (Dallas) 10/1
Kirk Cousins (Minnesota) 15/1
Christian McCaffrey (Carolina) 20/1
DeShaun Watson (Houston) 20/1
** Odds via Caesars Palace

Odds are stacked against Carolina Panthers running back, Christian McCaffrey. A running back won the MVP once in the last 12 years when Adrian Peterson took home the honor after a career-year with the Minnesota Vikings in 2012.

Wilson’s MVP March

Wilson threw at least 34 touchdowns in three out his last four seasons with the Seahawks. He tossed a career-high 35 TDs last season, and a career-low seven interceptions.

Through 10 games this season, Wilson threw 23 TDs, and he’s on pace to set a career-high once again. Wilson only threw two interceptions this season, which is probably his most impressive stat during his MVP run.

Wilson picked apart the LA Rams in Week 5, and beat them for four touchdowns. He torched the Tampa Bay Bucs for five touchdowns in Week 9, including the game winner in overtime.

The Seattle Seahawks are 8-2, but in second place in the NFC West behind the San Francisco 49ers (9-1). Wilson won Super Bowl 48 with the Sehawks in 2012, but he never won the regular-season MVP.

Lamarvelous MVP

Jackson passed his first big test of the season when he led the Ravens to a win over the New England Patriots. If he wants to go to the Super Bowl, he’ll inevitably have to face Belichick and the Pats in January.

So far this season, Jackson passed for 2,258 yards, 19 touchdowns, and five interceptions. In total, he’s accounted for 25 combined touchdowns.

The Ravens lead the NFL in rushing with 203.8 yards per game, or 54 yards more per game than the #2-ranked San Francisco 49ers. Jackson leads the Ravens with 788 yards this season on 6.9 yards per carry. He also rushed for six touchdowns.

Jackson started the season with five touchdowns against the Miami Dolphins. In Week 11, he smoked the Houston Texans for four touchdowns.

“Listen, the most valuable player on a team, I don’t know how you can say there’s one more valuable than Lamar,” said Ravens running back Mark Ingram.

Jackson led the Ravens to an 8-2 record and first place in the AFC North. The Ravens’ Super Bowl odds jumped to 9/1 when they defeated the New England Patriots in Week 9. The current odds for the Ravens are 5/1 to win Super Bowl 54.

Cheesy Hat Trick

Rodgers won the MVP in 2011 and 2014. His relationship with ex-head coach Mike McCarthy deteriorated over the next three seasons. The Packers axed McCarthy and hired Matt LaFleur to help get Rodgers back to his old form.

After a bumpy start to the season, Rodgers has the offense humming, despite a slew of banged-up wide receivers.

Through 10 games, Rodgers threw 17 touchdowns and only two picks this season. He destroyed the Raiders for 429 yards and five touchdowns in Week 7.

In his first MVP season after the Super Bowl win, Rodgers threw 45 touchdowns and only six interceptions. In 2014, Rodgers won the MVP with 40 touchdowns and seven interceptions.