After three grueling weeks, Egan Bernal (Team Ineos) became the first rider from Colombia to win the Tour de France. The 22-year old is also the youngest rider to win the grand race since World War II.

Egan Bernal Tour de France
Egan Bernal (Team Ineos) leads the peloton into Paris during his victory in the 2019 Tour de France. (Image: Reuters)

Bernal’s teammate, the defending champion Geraint Thomas, finished in second place overall

Team Ineos, formerly Team Sky, is in the middle of a cycling dynasty. They have six out of the last seven titles with four different riders (Egan Bernal, Geraint Thomas, Chris Froome, and Bradley Wiggins) winning the Tour de France.

“I’m really proud to be the first Colombian to win the Tour de France,” said Bernal. “So imagine, our first Tour. I think it’s really important for us. Yeah, I’m really proud to be the first Colombian to win the Tour.”

FINAL STANDINGS (Thru Stage 21):
Egan Bernal (Team Ineos) 82:57:00
Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos) +1:11
Steve Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma) +1:31
Emmanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) +1:56
Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step) +4:05

Bernal and Thomas were the favorites coming into the 2019 Tour de France. They finished first and second respectively.

“We are both ambitious,” said Thomas. “We’re at different stages of our career and you know, I’ve ridden and been loyal for so many teammates before me. It was 10 years of doing it until I get my own opportunity to win but at the same time, when someone like Egan is in the team as well and he’s riding well, there’s no shame and no harm if I do my bit for him.”

Julian Alaphilippe finished over four minutes behind Bernal. However, the aggressive Alaphilippe finished in fifth overall. He won the hearts and minds of new-found French cycling fans. He aggressiveness on descents is what made this year’s race one of the most exciting in recent memory.

Stage 21: Rambouillet > Champs-Elysees

The final stage in Paris is more of a formality. Riders start out at a leisurely pace and will be spotted sipping champagne on their way into Paris. The course starts at Rambouillet and ends at the Champs-Elysees.

Caleb Ewan won his third stage of this tour with a sprint to the finish line in Paris. Another photo finish for Ewan, who won Stage 11 and Stage 16. Ewan finished at 3:04:08 just a smidge above Dylan Groenewegen.

2019 Egan Bernal (Team Ineos)
2018 Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)
2017 Chris Froome (Team Sky)
2016 Chris Froome (Team Sky)
2015 Chris Froome (Team Sky)
2014 Vincenzo Nibali (Astana)
2013 Chris Froome (Team Sky)
2012 Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)
2011 Cadel Evans (BMC Racing)

Bernal also won the prestigious white jersey. The top rider among the youngest riders in the GC (all under 25) gets recognized with the white jersey. Bernal also missed winning a polka dot jersey for his excellence in the mountains.

“He’s 22, who knows how many he’ll win,” Thomas said. “The way the team has been, it’s just been incredible.”

France’s Romain Bardet won the 2019 King of the Mountains and the polak dot jersey. Bernal finished second.

Meanwhile, Movistar Team won the team category edging out Trek-Segafredo and Ineos.