Online Sportsbetting

US Open

The US Open is one of the oldest tennis tournaments in the Grand Slam. The tournament is currently held in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park in Queens, NYC at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center. It takes place in late August through early September. Itís the final tournament of Grand Slam tennis and is the only Grand Slam tournament that has final-set tiebreaks.

The first game was held in 1881. It was originally played on a grass court as an exclusive tournament to entertain high society. In the beginning, the menís and womenís games were separate with the Mixed Doubles held alongside the womenís games. In 1969, all of the tournaments were combined into one and the current format of the US Open was realized. 1969 was also the inaugural year of the open era in tennis that allowed professionals to compete in the major tournaments.

In 1975 the US Open changed locations and the tournament was played on a clay court. Shortly after, in 1978, the tournament moved to its current location and is now played on a hard court known as DecoTurf. DecoTurf has less friction and produces lower bounces than other hard courts. This creates a faster paced game that suits a serve-and-volley style player.

Some of the recent winners of the US Open include:

Menís Singles

  • 1999 Andre Agassi (USA)
  • 2000 Marat Safin (RUS)
  • 2001 Lleyton Hewitt (AUS)
  • 2002 Pete Sampras (USA)
  • 2003 Andy Roddick (USA)
  • 2004 Roger Federer (CHE)
  • 2005 Rodger Federer (CHE)
  • 2006 Rodger Federer (CHE)
  • 2007 Rodger Federer (CHE)
  • 2008 Rodger Federer (CHE)

Womenís Singles

  • 1999 Serena Williams (USA)
  • 2000 Venus Williams (USA)
  • 2001 Venus Williams (USA)
  • 2002 Serena Williams (USA)
  • 2003 Justine Nenin (BEL)
  • 2004 Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS)
  • 2005 Kim Clijsters (BEL)
  • 2006 Maria Sharapova (RUS)
  • 2007 Justine Henin (BEL)
  • 2008 Serena Williams (USA)

Richard Sears, Bill Larned and Bill Tilden all hold the most titles each with seven wins for the Menís Singles. Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer come in second with 5 wins each. Molla Bjurstedt Mallory holds the title for most Womenís singles with eight wins. Chris Evert comes in second with six wins.

In 2006, the US Open was the first Grand Slam tournament to implement instant replay reviews of calls using the Hawk-Eye computer system. With this new addition to the game players were allowed two challenges per set and one during a tiebreak. In 2008, the rules changed to allow three challenges per set with one during a tiebreak.

US Open Betting Tips

The Grand Slam tournaments are big events for tennis bettors and online sportsbooks. Fans like to put down money on the games to add an extra element of excitement.

If you plan on putting down some money on the US Open, itís important to keep the court surface in mind. Itís a hard court that results in a faster paced game. This type generally suits all playing styles, but the US Open has been known to be kind to players with a fast, serve-and-volley style such as Pete Sampras. While the serve-and-volley style isnít as common as it once was, there are still a few players that use it from time to time. Do a little research to find out which players prefer a faster, hard-hitting style of game. These players will more than likely do the best at the US Open.

If youíd like to learn more about odds and betting, check out our explanation of sports betting. Or, check out our odds conversion calculator to display tennis odds in American, European or decimal formats. If youíd like to get more tips for betting on tennis or other Grand Slam tournaments, visit our tennis, Australian Open, French Open or Wimbledon pages.

Once youíre ready, visit one of our recommended sportsbooks to put down a few dollars on your favorite players.

Back To Top