Online Sportsbetting

US Open

The US Open (officially known as the United States Open Championship) is the second major championship on the PGA Tour calendar. The USGA stages the event every year in mid-June so that the final day of play is held on Father’s Day. Also on the official European Tour schedule, the US Open became an official money event tournament on the Asian Tour in 2008.

This championship is quite unlike The Masters, in that the location of the tournament changes every year. At no point in the history of the US Open has a selected golf course held consecutive US Opens, however there are a handful of the most famous courses that have hosted the event on more than one occasion.

Pebble Beach is one such location, and it has been home to the US Open on more than one occasion in recent decades. In 2010, Pebble Beach Golf Links hosted the US Open for the fifth time in its history, with the first coming in 1972. The most recent Pebble Beach victor – and, consequently, the US Open winner – was Northern Ireland’s Graeme McDowell.

As you would expect, the US Open has been dominated by champions from the United States for more than a century. However, prior to 1911, the first 16 US Open winners were either from Scotland, England, or Jersey. After a decade and a half, the United States began to produce their own crop of home-grown professionals, and since 1911, an American has won the US Open eighty times.

Surprisingly though, in the last 10 years of the tournament, more non-US golfers have won the championship than Americans. Since that time, only Tiger Woods, Lucas Glover, and Jim Furyk have been able to been able to keep the US Open trophy on home soil. The most recent winner, Graeme McDowell will be just as keen to keep the title in Northern Ireland as players like Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson will be to see it returned to the Untied States.

The following is a list of US Open winners from the past two decades:

  • 2010 – Graeme McDowell (NIR)
  • 2009 – Lucas Glover (USA)
  • 2008 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2007 – Angel Cabrera (ARG)
  • 2006 – Geoff Ogilvy (AUS)
  • 2005 – Michael Campbell (NZL)
  • 2004 – Retief Goosen (RSA)
  • 2003 – Jim Furyk (USA)
  • 2002 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2001 – David Duval (USA)
  • 2000 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 1999 – Payne Stewart (USA)
  • 1998 – Lee Janzen (USA)
  • 1997 – Ernie Els (RSA)
  • 1996 – Steve Jones (USA)
  • 1995 – Corey Pavin (USA))
  • 1994 – Ernie Els (RSA)
  • 1993 – Lee Janzen (USA)
  • 1992 – Tom Kite (USA)
  • 1991 – Payne Stewart (USA)
  • 1990 – Hale Irwin (USA)

Online gambling venues provide a huge range of options for betting on the US Open, so if you are keen on picking the next major championship winner be sure to take a look at our guide to golf gambling.

Back To Top