Online Sportsbetting

US Masters

The Masters Tournament (also known as The US Masters) is one of the four major championships on the PGA Tour. The finest golfers from around the world compete each year for a chance to take home the illustrious Masters title and join the elite of green jacket winners.

The Masters differs from other major tournaments in that the event is held at the same venue each year: Augusta National Golf Club. The site is widely considered to be amongst the best golf courses in the world, and is ranked as the number one course in the United States.

The Masters tournament has been held every year since its inception in 1934 – barring 1943-45 during World War II – and over its 76-year history has only seen 16 professionals win the tournament on more than one occasion. Only the best players in the world have been able to master the difficult Augusta National Golf Course, with Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, and Tiger Woods amongst the championship leaders.

It should be no surprise that Americans have dominated The Masters for most of its history. In fact, up until 1980 (after an incredible 43 annual events), only one non-US golfer had ever lifted The Masters trophy. Gary Player holds that honor, with the South African legend winning in 1961, 1974, and 1978. Not until Seve Ballesteros’s victory in 1980 did players from every corner of the globe begin to win The Masters.

Eight professionals currently occupy the top of The Masters championships leaderboard, with all of them having won at least three tournaments. Nick Faldo, Gary Player, and, since his win in 2010, Phil Mickelson all make up a small portion of that group. However, three golfers surpass even those legendary names. Tiger Woods and Arnold Palmer have four Masters titles to their names, while Jack Nicklaus sits atop them all with an enviable six championship wins at Augusta.

The following is a list of The Masters winners from the past two decades:

  • 2010 – Phil Mickelson (USA)
  • 2009 – Angel Cabrera (ARG)
  • 2008 – Trevor Immelman (RSA)
  • 2007 – Zach Johnson (USA)
  • 2006 – Phil Mickelson (USA)
  • 2005 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2004 – Phil Mickelson (USA)
  • 2003 – Mike Weir (CAN)
  • 2002 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2001 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2000 – Vijay Singh (FJI)
  • 1999 – Jose Mario Olazabal (ESP)
  • 1998 – Mark O’Meara (USA)
  • 1997 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 1996 – Nick Faldo (ENG)
  • 1995 – Ben Crenshaw (USA)
  • 1994 – Jose Maria Olazabal (ESP)
  • 1993 – Bernhard Langer (GER)
  • 1992 – Fred Couples (USA)
  • 1991 – Ian Woosnam (WAL)
  • 1990 – Nick Faldo (ENG)

Betting on The Masters is not only an exciting gambling opportunity, but also a potentially lucrative challenge. If you would like to know more about golf betting online, check our golf gambling guide.

Back To Top