Online Sportsbetting

PGA Championship

Conducted by the PGA of America, the PGA Championship is the final major on the annual professional golf tour calendar. Usually played in mid-August (four weeks after The Open Championship), the tournament has been in existence since 1916 and has been played across numerous golf courses throughout the United States.

With such an extensive history, it should come as no surprise to learn that the PGA Championship has been held at dozens of different golf courses, some now defunct or no longer PGA venues. Siwanoy Country Club in Eastchester, New York hosted the first PGA Championship, and over the next decade the event was held in the same general region of the United States.

In more recent times however, the PGA Championship has been held at some of the most respected and visually stunning venues across the United States. In 2009, the tournament took place in Chaska, Minnesota at the Hazeltine National Golf Club, and in 2010 it will be played at Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wisconsin.

As should be expected from a US-based major, United States professionals have dominated the PGA Championship for the majority of its history. In fact, up until 1992, only two countries outside of the USA were able to produce PGA Championship winners. Both Australia and South Africa held that prestigious honour, until Nick Price’s victory at Bellerive Country Club added Zimbabwe to the list.

Americans have continued to win the PGA Championship trophy even to this day, so much so that only three non-US golfers have picked up the title in the last 15 years. While Tiger Woods dominated the event for the majority of that time, the last two years have seen Ireland’s Padraig Harrington and South Korea’s Yang Yong-eun keep the American trophy from staying on home soil.

The following is a list of PGA Championship winners from the past two decades:

  • 2009 – Yang Yong-eun (KOR)
  • 2008 – Padraig Harrington (IRL)
  • 2007 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2006 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2005 – Phil Mickelson (USA)
  • 2004 – Vijay Singh (FIJ)
  • 2003 – Shaun Micheel (USA)
  • 2002 – Rich Beem (USA)
  • 2001 – David Toms (USA)
  • 2000 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 1999 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 1998 – Vijay Singh (FIJ)
  • 1997 – Davis Love III (USA)
  • 1996 – Mark Brooks (USA)
  • 1995 – Steve Elkington (AUS)
  • 1994 – Nick Price (ZIM)
  • 1993 – Paul Azinger (USA)
  • 1992 – Nick Price (ZIM)
  • 1991 – John Daly (USA)
  • 1990 – Wayne Grady (AUS)

If you are interested in making a wager on the PGA Championship, or would simply like to learn more about online golf betting, take a look at our golf gambling guide.

Back To Top