Online Sportsbetting

British Open

The Open Championship (known as the British Open outside of the United Kingdom) is the only major championship on the PGA Tour held outside of the United States, and is the oldest of all four majors. The tournament is governed by The R&A, and changes course locations every year.

Since the first Open Championship in 1860, the event has been played across a range of illustrious golf courses throughout the United Kingdom. While Northern Ireland was once the host nation for an Open Championship, only Scotland and England have conducted the tournament in recent years, with the Old Course at St Andrews a regular venue.

St Andrews has been one of The Open Championship locations since 1873. It was the second venue of the championship, after Prestwick Golf Club hosted the event exclusively from 1860-72. In 2010, St Andrews will once again be the location of the third calendar PGA Tour major, and will see Stewart Cink attempt to join the long list of back-to-back British Open winners.

For the first three decades of the tournament’s history, only Scottish professionals lifted the trophy. However, after English amateur John Ball won the title in 1890, the nationality of The Open Championship victors quickly spread to all corners of the United Kingdom. After World War I, the first American won the championship, and in recent years players from the United States have dominated the event.

Unlike other tournaments, there are several professionals who have won the British Open on more than one occasion. In fact, 21 players in total have lifted The Open Championship trophy at least twice, with Australian Peter Thomson claiming an incredible five titles, and Harry Vardon holding the record with six.

The following is a list of The Open Championship winners from the past two decades:

  • 2009 – Stewart Cink (USA)
  • 2008 – Padraig Harrington (IRL)
  • 2007 – Padraig Harrington (IRL)
  • 2006 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2005 – Tiger Woods (USA)
  • 2004 – Todd Hamilton (USA)
  • 2003 – Ben Curtis (USA)
  • 2002 – Ernie Els (RSA)
  • 2001 – David Duval (USA)
  • 2000 – St Andrews (USA)
  • 1999 – Paul Lawrie (SCO)
  • 1998 – Mark O’Meara (USA)
  • 1997 – Justin Leonard (USA)
  • 1996 – Tom Lehman (USA)
  • 1995 – John Daly (USA)
  • 1994 – Nick Price (ZIM)
  • 1993 – Greg Norman (AUS)
  • 1992 – Nick Faldo (ENG)
  • 1991 – Ian Baker-Finch (AUS)
  • 1990 – Nick Faldo (ENG)

Online golf betting is an extremely popular activity, and the PGA major championships are the best way to enjoy exciting golf and huge payouts. For more information about betting on golf, click here.

Back To Top