Online Sportsbetting

Spanish Primera aka La Liga

Spain’s Primera Division – commonly referred to as La Liga – is the top-flight professional football league in Spain. La Liga is one of the top four leagues in Europe alongside the English Premier League (EPL), Italy’s Serie A, and Germany’s Bundesliga.

The Primera Division title has been challenged since its inception in 1929. There are 20 teams playing La Liga each season, with 58 clubs in total having been at the highest tier of Spanish Football at some time. La Liga, like most European leagues, operates on a promotion/relation system between itself and Liga Adelante, where the three lowest placed teams in La Liga are relegated, and the three highest placed teams in La Adelante replace them.

Similar to the EPL, La Liga is dominated by two giants of European football: FC Barcelona and Real Madrid. Both have had huge success at club and European level, and are still challenging the Spanish title year after year. In addition to their on-field success, both clubs possess UEFA Elite stadiums, with Barcelona’s Camp Nou able to house a capacity crowd of 98,772 football fans.

La Liga is also associated with the annual UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League tournaments. The results from each La Liga season determine which teams will compete in the European competitions. At the completion of the 2008-09 season, Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Sevilla gained automatic qualification to the group stage of the Champions League for finishing the league 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, respectively. Villareal and Valencia, who finished the season 5th and 6th, moved onto the play-off round of the UEFA Europa League.

The 2009 transfer window has seen some of the biggest spending in football history. Real Madrid, the richest club in the world, forked out US$93.9 million for AC Milan’s Kaka, only to make history a week later with a world record transfer fee of US$132 million to bring Cristiano Ronaldo from Manchester United.

The 2009-10 La Liga season is set to begin on August 29, and BetUS will be posting odds on every game throughout the entire season. Be sure to follow your favourite club as Spain’s finest football teams compete for the prestigious La Liga Championship title.

Back To Top