Online Sports Betting

National Football Conference (NFC)

The National Football Conference was created after the NFL-AFL merger in 1970. The NFC originally consisted off all the former NFL teams except for the Cleveland Browns, Pittsburgh Steelers and Baltimore Colts who joined the AFC.

The thirteen NFC sides were originally split into three divisions: the NFC Eastern, NFC Central and NFC Western. The franchises could not agree on who should be in which division so five different options were placed in a glass bowl and the option that was drawn decided how the conference would be structured. The winning plan had five franchises in the NFC Eastern and four in both NFC Central and NFC Western.

In 1976, the Seattle Seahawks and Tampa Bay Buccaneers joined the NFL. The Seahawks played their first season in the NFC before switching with the Buccaneers for their second season. The Carolina Panthers joined the NFC in 1995 and the Seahawks rejoined the NFC to give it a balance sixteen franchises.

In 2002, the NFC franchises were realigned into four divisions with four sides each. The realignment saw the Seahawks placed in NFC West while the Arizona Cardinals moved to the NFC East. The Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New Orleans Saints and Tampa Bay Buccaneers formed a new division known as the NFC South. NFC Central was renamed NFC North.

The NFC has won twenty-three out of forty-two Super Bowls played since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970. The NFC dominated, in the late 1980s and 1990s, winning thirteen straight Super Bowls. Every NFC franchise, except for the Detroit Lions, has played in the Super Bowl while nine of the sixteen teams have been Super Bowl Champions.

Current NFC Alignment

NFC East

NFC North

NFC South

NFC West

Back To Top